The story of Nathaniel McHorney's 1901 trip to Ecuador.

January 4th, 1901

The page for Friday, January 4th says:

Received Holy Communion at 
St. Peters Church in Jersey City 
New Jersey.

My First Friday of the year.

(as always, you can click on the image to get a larger view)

January 4th  

Google says that St Peter’s is here (today), and I found a note in the NYT talking about a construction accident during the building of St. Peter’s on Grand St. in 1866, so I’m pretty sure that the Church has been in the same  location for a long, long time.

Comments on: "January 4th, 1901" (3)

  1. Was St Peters near the address of the 1880 census? If it is, I would say he lived still in the area.

  2. In the 1880 census, Nathaniel was 17 years old, and living with his parents.
    Their address was 503 Barrow St. Jersey City, about 1/2 mile away from St. Peter’s church.

    I’d say it’s likely that he still lived in the area, but I don’t know where.

    For reference, the 1880 census entry is on page 54 of enumeration district 38 (Jersey City)

    • Found him in the 1900 census. He was living at 14 Clendenney Ave, Jersey City, NJ, which is about 2 miles from St. Peter’s.

      Hudson County enumeration district #133, page 16.
      8th ward of Jersey City.

      [Later] Interestingly enough, he is listed as living with his sister, Anna Wills (who was born in December of 1865). I’ve never heard of Anna McHorney (at least not in _that_ generation). Nathaniel has an aunt – Anna Amelia McHorney, and a daughter – Anna Cecila McHorney (b 1916), but I don’t know of a sister.

      On the other hand, Nathaniel (b 1863) had six brothers and sisters that I know of, so an seventh would not been too surprising. Susan (1861), Marie (1864), Thomas (1866), Harry (1868), Edward (1872) and William (1876). However, I only see Susan (age 8), Nathaniel (7), Marie (5), and Henry (2) in the 1870 census. I believe that Thomas died very young.

      [Later] I believe now that Anna is Marie, i.e, her name was Anna Marie McHorney. In my family tree, she married Charles Wells. I have found a couple other online family trees with “Anna Maria” and “Anna Marie”, with matching birth (and death – 1953) dates.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

