The story of Nathaniel McHorney's 1901 trip to Ecuador.

February 5th, 1901

The page for Tuesday, February 5th says:

Arose at 7:30 A.M. at work 8 A.M.
Mr. Stapleton and I at accounts.
He has so much and many different
things to attend that it is next
to hold him for 1 hour. Still
digging away myself.
It's a hard matter to jump in
and I want to avoid mistakes
not being familiar with the
proper entries.
Mr. D.C.S. again goes to Boqueron
Cargo arrived. And the same mail
which left N.Y. with us Jan 7, 1901
only reached us today.
Boy worked on map 5 hours for
Mrs. C.G.F. at gardening 3 hours.
Told her I was disappointed at
Mr. McNulty's leaving. My intention
was for my boy to have secured some
practical knowledge of surveying
hence my leaving N.Y. with him at
so small a salary. I consider it time
lost for my son.
Not more than 1/2 inch rain.

(as always, you can click on the image to get a larger view) 

Questions and comments:

  • Odd phrasing: “next to hold him”
Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

