The story of Nathaniel McHorney's 1901 trip to Ecuador.

February 17th, 1901

The page for Sunday, February 17th says:

Arose at 8 A.M. Airing clothes.
Prayers for the day - Meditation
on Eternity.
Sun is hot - all stuff and nonsense
about this country being unhealthy
if care is exercised.
Wondering if Anna is having
better health. Somehow, I feel she
is going to New York to live.
Last night dreaming I met my
sister Maria going up 1st Street, J.C.
I told her I was going to Susie's. She
then said she took my things and was
keeping house at 178 - 12th Street. Also
impressed me that there had been trouble
among themselves. I wonder at it.
95° today.
Spent a day well. Much reading.
Thunder and lightning all afternoon.
Boy is very amusing in the evening
telling me about Huckleberry Finn
in Tom Sawyer. He enjoys it much
and I enjoy my son. Always
laughing and in good spirits.
(as always, you can click on the image to get a larger view) 

Questions and comments:

  • “My sister Marie” is Anna Marie (McHorney) Wells, who Nathaniel was living with in June of 1900 – she a widow and he a widower.
  • Nathaniel had a sister Susan McHorney, who married Andrew Daly. (or Daley). In the 1900 census, they were living in Jersey City. If I had to guess, I’d say that was “Susie”
Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

