The story of Nathaniel McHorney's 1901 trip to Ecuador.

February 20th, 1901

The page for Wednesday, February 20th says:

Arose at 7 A.M. At work 7:40 A.M.
work until 10:20 A.M.  Mr. Franklyn
at work at 9 A.M. Heat today rather
the best of me. My head is not steady.
Too much quinine I fancy.
No rain for the last 24 hours.
Mr. Franklyn at work again in
the afternoon. Both of use sorely
puzzled at a/cs. He says we need
a feature a/c - i.e, what they call
our money - and commissary given
credit - thusly, etc.
It is now 7 p.m. my eyes are blurred
and cannot see good.
Did not smoke this first day of
Lent. My sacrificial offering for a
penance.
Was dreaming of Anna & Adelaide
Monday night - At a dance. I grow
jealous. Anna simply ignores me. Feel
Miserable. Tough to have temper, eh!
Meisner called an remained an hour.
Goes to Sajado on Monday next. Told me
much of mine - Fred Cook, Swansborough.

(as always, you can click on the image to get a larger view) 

Questions and comments:

  • The only “Adelaide I know of is Adelaide Lauterbach, Anna’s younger sister, who was born in 1878.
  • This is the first mention of Fred Cook.
Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

