The story of Nathaniel McHorney's 1901 trip to Ecuador.

March 1st, 1901

The page for Friday, March 1st says:

 
At office 5:50 A.M. Quit 5:20 p.m.
Post up 2 ledgers - laborers.
Store keeper trying tricks on me.
Shortages etc, soap and cangled.
Men calling for their time for
February.
Manage fairly well.
Headace (sic) better to-day.
I guess too much salt beef, pork and
canned goods too much for me.
Boy with me at office.
It will take many trips to keep
up with this crowd down here.
They quiz me about receipts for everything
and say I will bring it to law.
Some ask for a return receipt for me.
Storekeeper deliberately changed my figures
to-day.
Many enquiries about pay roll.

(as always, you can click on the image to get a larger view) 

Questions and comments:

  • I think the Nathan’s musings about “many trips” are in reference to his plan to run the New York office of the Playa de Oro after his year in Ecuador is completed.
Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

