The story of Nathaniel McHorney's 1901 trip to Ecuador.

March 17th, 1901

The page for Sunday, March 17th says:

At office 5:45 A.M. 
Rush over at 11 o'clock A.M.
Much work in hunting over a/cs
Send money over to Quasamambi Mine 
for orders from Mr. D. C. Stapleton.
He sends me many messages about
getting men out for tomorrow's work.
Junior and Sr. Clair Moore pointing up
chisels at blacksmith shop all morning.
Sell some goods. Much, too much for
one man to handle.
Time sheets for the past week handed
in to me.
Mr. A. L. Moore took me to task concerning
yesterdays remarks concerning himself.
I stood my ground that he was not in 
charge and that the only orders were to be
given by Mr. D. C. Stapleton.
Mr. Meisner had to right to send a message
in the manner he did with is cook, i.e, if
Mr. Stapleton was absent give it to Mr. Moore.
Hence my ardor for Mr. D.C.S. To, so and so with
Mr. Moore. I frankly told him I made a break.
Mr. Moore is plain and honest but does not
take in all (underlined) the situation here.
Either one man is boss or the other to these
natives. One must now allow them an inch at this
critical time - and there you are.

(as always, you can click on the image to get a larger view)

 

Questions and comments:

  • It appears that things are coming to a head at the camp.
  • I don’t understand the bit “Hence my ardor … made a break”
  • “One must now allow them” ? I would think that “not” would be the correct word, but that’s not what he wrote.
Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

