The story of Nathaniel McHorney's 1901 trip to Ecuador.

March 24th, 1901

The page for Sunday, March 24th says:

At office 6:05 A.M. 
Paid out $400. Many difficulties overcome.
Mr. Moore hustling in room No 2.
Tell him all goods are inventoried and
charges of missing goods will be made to me.
Tells me of 3 yards of cloth to be charged his a/c.
Boy gives Phonograph selections.
All hands in good humor except the cook.
Got work from Mr. Stapleton from Pilot at
10:30 A.M. - at 1 P.M. perform the missions.
Day hot - Cigarettes now out. Francis found some.
7 p.m. Carnillio Quinonez comes to my house
stating that Beningo Ayovi says I told him
that Quinonez owed the Company $27.
Poor chap - I explained by saying it was
false. Manuel E Laza off to Mr. Stapleton
worried at being accused by the Moores of
robbing them. Mr. Stapleton sent me his
regards. Manuel indicates to me that I
am his only boss here in absence of D.C.S.
Man poisoned at P. de O. with snake bite.
Sent them some ammonia.
Boy worried about gun - Claire Moore wants
to sell for $30.
Thunder at night.
Now for my Sunday devotions.

(as always, you can click on the image to get a larger view)

 

Questions and comments:

  • Room #2 is where the pills were missing from (yesterday)
  • Lots of dissent among the workers.
Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

