The story of Nathaniel McHorney's 1901 trip to Ecuador.

April 3rd, 1901

The page for Wednesday, April 3rd says:

At office 5:50 A.M. Many hands remain
away from work for Good Friday or Santos
Viernes. Very busy all day. Mail arrives.
Receive many letters. Papers from Jim Gormley
My but a treat. Thank Jim for it.
Downey, Gormley, McNulty and office write one.
Was advised by N.Y. office that Mr. A. L. 
Moore was my chief and to obey him. I 
congratulated him, and said I was ready for
orders from him. He said: That is all right
but I failed to connect. He ordered me
to stick to Mr. D.C. Stapleton. I told him that
indeed I would. We had a good talk on 
The subject. He can hardly see the necessity
of going to Quayaquil. Could reach N.Y.
in time for Annual Meeting if it is
held. N.Y. Office wrote advising him of
sending to his wife his salary.
Sent my mail direct to Mr. D.C. Stapleton
un-opened. He returns it saying he will
come down sometime to-mirror. Too gentlemanly
to open it I fancy. Mr. A. L. Moore says he
would note have done it. My own mail too!
Read Mr. F. V. Morrell's letters to him.
Letters from Anna, Adelaide, Susie, Maria &
Sarah Martin.
Must give great thanks to God.

Mr. A.L. Moore says if they would give
him this property - He could get all the money he
needed to bring Franklyn river water and make
it pay handsomely. As it is will pay, but to
get par for the stock - it means a wait for 2
years and bring the water from Franklyn rio.
Mistake has been made on the water question.
Only one way to correct it - Franklyn river.
The proposition not a hard one if money is coming.

 

(as always, you can click on the image to get a larger view)

Questions and comments:

  • The last third of this entry is written on the previous page.
  • The word “advised” was crossed out and replaced with “ordered” (referring to “stick to D.C. Stapleton”)
  • I don’t know where the “Franklyn river” is; I suspect that it is a company name for one of the local river.
  • F.V. Morrell is president of the Playa de Oro Mining company.
Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

