The story of Nathaniel McHorney's 1901 trip to Ecuador.

April 26th, 1901

The page for Friday, April 26th says:

At office 6:15 A.M. About 4 A.M. watchman
comes to my house for keys. I keep silence
and do not go to office so as not to be thought
interloping. Mr. D.C. Stapleton sails at 5 A.M.
Francis tells me - he has been nosing over
at store.
Gerald and I talk freely. Poor gravel
at Quasamambi. Can't yet tell about
Sajado. Strictest economy necessary here
Downey and Nugent to run Quasamambi.
Sent up their clothes yesterday.
Glad I have 2 months salary to the
good. Ask questions about steerage rates
from here to Panama.,
Boy cheery when I tell him. Says "Pop,
how is it Mr. Nugent and Downey liked
the mine so well" Don't get blue, I am
satisfied with steerage, I can stand it
but, I don't think you can.
Thanks to God for such a blessed
boy. Things look different. Such is youth.
Gerald says "Distance lends enchantments"
Dan expects $6000 - if they (N.Y.) put up
they can have possession. If note, can
save himself here. Here again is a riddle.
Annual meeting deferred until July, Ward told him.
Say prayers Mac - have faith and get to Anna.

(as always, you can click on the image to get a larger view)

 

Questions and comments:

  • Is “Dan” Daniel (D.C) Stapleton?
Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

