The story of Nathaniel McHorney's 1901 trip to Ecuador.

May 6th, 1901

The page for Monday, May 6th says:

At office 6 A.M. 
Many carpenters in this camp.
Geo Roofe says the people are starving. No
plantains to eat. In Play de Oro it is even
worse. People shiftless, and no money, being
here, not a canoe up the river for the
past two weeks. The afternoon a beautiful one
Work hard for 7 hours to-day.
Gerald gome up over the line - left at
7 A.M. - not back at 7 p.m.
Boy and I talk much about Dulzura.
Womenfolks make fun of me as I pass
their house en route to blacksmith shop to-day.
I treat it with contempt - but still I wonder
at the reason for it.
Double rainbow to-night.
About 20 lbs of pork left. Well, I am very
tired of eating it.

(as always, you can click on the image to get a larger view)

 

Questions and comments:

  • I think that this is the first mention of George Roofe.
  • Again, talking about Dulzura – there’s only one that I know of, and it is outside San Diego.
Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

