The story of Nathaniel McHorney's 1901 trip to Ecuador.

May 13th, 1901

The page for Monday May 13th says:

At office 5:30 A.M.
Did a very good days work and feel
particularly good all day. Pleasant dreams
of Anna early this A.M.
Gerald and Mr. Albert Matson off to Quas-
amambi. Have to admit it now: Gerald
evidently gunning for my scalp. Well, when
D.C. Stapleton arrives on Wednesday, I am
willing to go without any quarreling.
Boy noticed it as very patent at supper
to-night.
Out Blessed Lady will succor me when
necessary. Fancy it will be Downey's
turn next. Broke men are what is
wanted here. I know D.C. Stapleton will
be fair with me.
Boy and I decide to steerage it to
San Diego to save the money. We are
happy in the thought of leaving here
this month.
I am learning my needed lesson of
humility. Thank God for the grace
of the vision of it.
In 6 weeks I hope to be in Dulzura.

(as always, you can click on the image to get a larger view)

Questions and comments:

  • I think it is safe to say that Nathaniel has given up on this job.
  • The word “patent” seems wrong to me.
Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

