The story of Nathaniel McHorney's 1901 trip to Ecuador.

August 12th, 1901

The page for Monday, August 12th says:

"I have been thinking this A.M. Mr. McHorney.
How would you like to go to New York."
At 12 oclock Noon this was said - I left
Playa Rica at 3:15 p.m.
Give to him Phonograph & books say $100 gold value.
"You have the experience and will get paid"
Never mind about the expenses on this end -
Gave me order for $20 on Campo.
Bank Check $200
Sent me off to go via Tumaco.

Tells me to share expenses with Downey
who also, has an order for $40 - on Campo.
Wants Ward to come down.
Thinks more often of Coats than himself.
Offered to have masses said for him.

No Beans nor rice on hand - 5 bbls pork,
tinned goods - and my brother and I can
live on what we have on hand.
I asked Downey (last night) to change his
discharge to a resignation - Refused
Turn back to page 222

(as always, you can click on the image to get a larger view)

Questions and comments:

  • Campo is (I believe) a person/bank in downstream, rather than the suburb of San Diego.
  • It is not clear to me how much of this entry is quoting D.C. Stapleton (“My brother and I”, for example), and how much is Nathaniel (“Sent me off via Tumaco”)
  • “Turn back to page 222” is a reference to the letter written on page #222 of the diary
  • Coats is almost certainly S.A. Coates.
  • The word after phonograph could be “boots” – but I am not sure.
Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

